Each day, numerous people are arrested throughout the state of Nebraska on suspicion of driving under the influence. If convicted of drunk driving, they could face significant penalties, some of which may have lasting consequences on their personal and professional lives. Therefore, it is important that Nebraska motorists understand the potential consequences of a DUI conviction in the state.

According to Nebraska state law, a first-time DUI conviction carries a fine of between $500 and $5,000. Additionally, those who are convicted of drunk driving with no prior record may be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of seven days in jail. The maximum sentence of imprisonment for first-time DUI offenses is 60 days.

According to the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers who are arrested for drunk driving may also lose their driving privileges. If they have no prior history of alcohol-related offenses or have not been arrested for DUI within the preceding 15 years, people may have their driver’s licenses revoked for up to 180 days for a first-time offense. Should they refuse to submit to chemical testing, they may lose their operating privileges for one year. In order to regain their licenses after the period of revocation, drivers must apply for a new license, pass the licensing exam and pay a reinstatement fee.

Upon arresting motorists for driving under the influence, law enforcement is authorized to immediately confiscate their operator’s licenses. Eligible drivers, however, may petition the DMV for and receive a temporary license, allowing them to drive for 15 days. Upon the expiration of a temporary license, some motorists may be eligible to receive an ignition interlock permit. This would allow them to drive vehicles with ignition interlock devices installed in them.